Mississauga receives Governor General’s Medal in Architecture


Ontario Construction News staff writer

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) and Canada Council have awarded the Governor General’s Medal in Architecture to Mississauga for Churchill Meadows Community Centre and Mattamy Sports Park, recognizing the building’s outstanding design and excellence.

“The 50-acre site was previously an agricultural field that transformed into a diversified park and pavilion-style building. Together, it has become a new central hub for the community, bringing people together through sports, recreation and leisure activities – all designed with a strong focus on nature and sustainability,” said Raj Sheth, Commissioner, Corporate Services. “I’m proud of MJMA architect, Aquicon Construction Co. and the City team for being so thoughtful and innovative when it came to designing and building this modern and iconic accessible property for the public to enjoy.

“Receiving the Governor General’s Medal in Architecture is a truly proud moment for us all.”

Churchill Meadows Community Centre and Mattamy Sports Park opened to the public in 2021 and features a 75,000-square foot community centre and 57-acre sports park that offers:

  • 25-metre, six-lane pool and therapeutic pool
  • Triple gymnasium
  • Teaching kitchen and multipurpose room
  • Active Living Studio
  • Two lit artificial turf soccer fields, one with a seasonal dome
  • Playground
  • Spray pad
  • Skate park
  • Multi-purpose court
  • Outdoor fitness equipment
  • Large green space and walking trails
  • Year-round covered tennis and pickleball courts – which are expected to open later this year

The Governor General’s Medal in Architecture is awarded every two years to recognize and celebrate outstanding design in recently completed built projects of any size, type and geographical location by Canadian architects. Mississauga was one of 12 recipients to receive this prestigious distinction.


The 12 winning projects from across the country represent a variety of building types and sizes—from a residential home to a public library to a theatre.

The following are the 2024 recipients:

“The Governor General’s Medals in Architecture celebrate and commemorate projects and architects that embrace and exceed the highest standards of the profession,” RAIC president Jason Robbins said in statement. “This year’s recipients continue a long-standing tradition of design excellence, making a significant impact across all aspects of our lives. The awarded projects demonstrate exceptional careful consideration of people, place and purpose, and further contribute to the growing Canadian culture of design.

“Each and every project shows how architecture can be a positive force that is inclusive, sustainable, and capable of change in individual lives and communities. Your dedication to design excellence creates a better world for all.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.