CPCA confirms new board at Annual Conference and AGM

cpca vogel
CPCA chair Tim Vogel from Cloverdale Paint

The Canadian Paint and Coatings Association (CPCA) held its 104th Annual Conference and Annual General Meeting in Montreal, Quebec, on May 24-25.

The AGM saw the re-election of several members to the CPCA Board of Directors including
Tim Vogel of Cloverdale Paint as chair.

The full Board slate for 2017–18 is as follows:

  • André Buisson (Société Laurentide)
  • Bruce Clatworthy (A.R. Monteith)
  • Doug Crabb (Duha Group)
  • Andy Doyle (American Coatings Association)
  • Nancy Houle (BASF Canada)
  • Brent Jamieson (Axalta Coating Systems)
  • Sharon Kelly (KelCoatings)
  • Glen Knowles (Sherwin-Williams)
  • Ron Nakamura (PPG Canada)
  • Darrin Nobel (Home-Hardware Beauti-Tone)
  • Jeff Snyder (AkzoNobel)
  • Ed Thompson (L.V. Lomas)
  • Richard Tremblay (Benjamin Moore)
  • Fred Veghelyi (OPC Polymers Canada)
  • Tim Vogel (Board Chair, Cloverdale Paint)

“The re-election of the CPCA Board of Directors is a welcome outcome,” said Vogel, “In particular, the association’s three-year strategic plan will end soon, and the board expects to approve a new three-year plan by December. Part of that plan will ensure the association continues its work toward ensuring existing chemicals can continue to be used in thousands of product formulations, while at the same time ensuring minimal impact on human health and the environment.”

The conference included a business program that focused on “Trends Moving Industry to Higher Levels of Performance.” Topics included various issues impacting paint and coatings
such as sustainability, use of biocides, transformative mergers and acquisitions, and the ongoing developments in the construction and automotive segments. The conference
looked at supply chain risk management and ongoing sustainability challenges, including
paint stewardship in Canada. It also looked at waste management and the impressive efforts being made to drastically reduce a company’s environmental footprint while at the same time reducing costs.

The annual Chair’s Gala Dinner and industry award presentations recognized key individuals for their commitment to issues of importance to the Canadian paint and coatings industry.

CPCA’s highest honour this year, the Roy Kennedy Outstanding Achievement Award, was presented to Andy Doyle, president and CEO of the American Coatings Association. The Industry Achievement Award was presented to Errol Bonaventura (Inortech-EMCO), Barry Cupp (Sherwin-Williams) and Sheri Oberle (AkzoNobel). This award is presented to an individual or an organization that has demonstrated exceptional achievement in advancing the interests of the industry and the association.

The Industry Statesman Award was presented to Stuart Eaton (Cloverdale Paint), Gilles Lussier (Chemours) and Richard St-Onge (Peintures MF). This award is presented to individuals who have recently retired or are retiring and have made a significant contribution to the association at the national or local level.

“The recognition of industry representatives is critical in terms of what they do for the
association, the industry generally and the companies they represent,” said Gary
LeRoux, CPCA’s president and CEO. “Our efforts in advocating for the industry could not be accomplished without the support and dedication of our members.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.