Nova Scotia safety association presents construction sector awards for safety leadership and excellence.


Construction Safety Nova Scotia (CSNS) recently announced winners of its 2023 Safety Awards, which were presented at the association’s annual general meeting. This year, the awards honoured 12 companies and three individuals demonstrating a significant commitment to occupational health and safety in the construction industry in Nova Scotia.

“Every year, we really look forward to handing out these awards at our AGM. It’s not often we get to recognize the incredible work that folks in our sector are doing to keep construction workers safe, and we are happy to provide that opportunity,” said MJ MacDonald, CEO of CSNS.

“These companies should be looked upon by others as shining examples of doing safety right.”

This year’s CSNS Safety Awards included the addition of a mental health award and a young worker safety award to recognize leaders in those areas.

2023 winners:

Women and Safety Leadership Award – presented to a woman in health and safety who exemplifies the highest standards for safety leadership, going above and beyond to create change

  • Cheyenne Coulton, health and safety advisor at Pomerleau

Safety Champion Award – presented to an individual who consistently demonstrates outstanding safety excellence and support for their industry peers

  • Debbie Greencorn, accounts payable supervisor and joint occupational health and safety committee co-chair at the Town of New Glasgow.

Best Safety Culture Award – recognizes excellence in an organization’s OHS culture, with strong safety leadership, a commitment to continuous improvement, and employees who take accountability for safety

  • The Shaw Group Ltd. developed a corporate safety strategy team made up of several senior leaders. All senior leaders conduct “Leadership Safety Walks” at sites other than their own for inspections and conversations with employees.

Workplace Mental Health Award recognizes a company that prioritizes worker mental health and understand that mental health is just as important as physical health.

  • Bird Construction leaders share knowledge and resources and foster an environment where it is safe to raise concerns about mental health. The company offers virtual courses on mental health and Mental Health First Aid for managers. It delivered several toolbox talks tailored to mental health issues.

Young Worker Safety Award recognizes an organization that displays exemplary health and safety practices specifically targeted to workers under the age of 25.

  • Iron Maple Constructors where apprentices and new hires undergo a wide range of comprehensive training and new employees are placed with a more experienced mentor in the trades. Young workers are comfortable approaching their supers with safety concerns.

This year, more rigorous criteria was developed for the Chair’s Awards of Safety Excellence, the highest honour. These awards are now determined through a combination of WCB statistics (injury rate and experience rating) and external COR audit scores over the past three years. Additionally, winners cannot have had any OHS prosecutions, orders, or penalties in the last three years. There is one winner for each COR category. The Most Improved award is based on the improvement in the last three years of a company’s WCB injury rate and experience rating.

Chair’s Award for Safety Excellence – Owner/Operator

  • Feindels Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Inc.
  • Honourable Mention: Wagner Property Services Ltd.

Chair’s Award for Safety Excellence – Small Business

  • Eastern Alternative Power Systems Limited
  • Honourable Mention: Built Tough Construction LTD

Chair’s Award for Safety Excellence – Intermediate Business

  • AML Painting Ltd
  • Honourable Mention: Tate Construction Ltd

Chair’s Award for Safety Excellence – Standard Business

  • Trane Canada

Most Improved

  • XL Electric Limited


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.