CCA recognizes two individuals as Person of the Year, among other awards

cca person of year

The Canadian Construction Association (CCA) has presented its annual awards in Bermuda, in conjunction with its annual conference. These awards recognize the important contributions of individuals, companies and associations that promote and enhance the Canadian construction industry, the association says in a statement.

The association recognized two individuals as 2018 CCA Person of the Year, Mary-Anne Bowcott, Westcom Plumbing, and Tom Rankin, Rankin Construction Ltd.

“Mary-Anne Bowcott has accomplished much in a short period of time,” her award citation says.  “As a small-business owner, journeyman plumber, class B gasfitter, and certified steep-slope roofer, Mary-Anne is living proof that hard work pays off. The owner of Westcom Plumbing, Mary-Anne is a shining example of the 10 per cent of women that make up the trades in B.C. She has also contributed to increasing the number of women in the industry by taking on numerous female apprentices since the inception of her company in 2015. In a few short years, she has grown her business and garnered the respect of not only her clients, but of her community – taking home the Sooke Region Chamber of Commerce Trades and Skilled Labour Excellence Award in 2017 and 2018 and the 2018 BC Construction Industry Leader Award.”

Meanwhile, CCA said: “Tom Rankin has been an active and successful leader in the construction industry for decades. In 1978, Tom partnered with Dave Stephens to co-found Stephens and Rankin Inc., a heavy civil construction company, which later became Rankin Construction Ltd. He also created Rankin Renewable Power Inc. (RRPI) which was involved in the development of policy for wind power that balances the enablement of green technology with minimized impact on the local community. Tom has been an active donor to various organizations, such as Goodwill Industries Niagara, Jericho House, Pathstone Mental Health, Wellspring Niagara, and St. Martin Elementary School, to name a few. His numerous awards include an Outstanding Engineering Award, an Outstanding Business Award from the City of St. Catharines and a Niagara Lifetime Achievement Hall of Fame Award, among many others.”

Other 2018 award recipients include:

Awards of Excellence

  • 2018 CCA Excellence in Innovation Award – Emil Anderson Construction
  • 2018 CCA Environmental Achievement Award – Maple Reinders
  • 2018 CCA International Business Award – Aecon
  • 2018 CCA National Safety Award – Gisborne Group
  • 2018 CCA Partner Association Award – Vancouver Regional Construction Association
  • 2018 CCA Community Leader Award – Tomlinson Group
  • 2018 CCA Gold Seal Association Award – Winnipeg Construction Association

Awards of Recognition

  • 2018 CCA General Contractor Award – Art Winslow, Graham Construction
  • 2018 CCA Trade Contractor Award – Rhonda Collings, Glenn Collings Ltd.
  • 2018 CCA Civil Infrastructure Award – Chris McNally, C & M McNally Engineering Corp.
  • 2018 CCA Manufacturers, Suppliers and Services Award – Jean Pouliot, Produits Métalliques PMI

“I would like to congratulate the CCA award winners, who are an inspiration to all, and encourage everybody to apply for next year’s awards,” said CCA chair Zey Emir. “It is a pleasure to highlight the innovative approaches of our members that raise the bar for the industry. It is also heartwarming to hear about how our members support their communities.”

More information, including videos from the awards ceremony and a list of past recipients, is available at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.