UBC’s School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture to host LafargeHolcim Awards for Sustainable Construction jury


Canadian Design and Construction Report staff writer

University of British Columbia’s (UBC)  School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (SALA) will host the North American jury to judge the fifth International LafargeHolcim Awards for Sustainable Construction this June. The awards are an activity of the LafargeHolcim Foundation.

“We are honoured to host the North American regional jury of the largest global design competition so closely aligned with the design and sustainability leadership values at the core of our School,” SALA director Ron Kellett said in a statement. “LafargeHolcim Foundation has chosen only SALA and MIT as its partners in North America which demonstrates the calibre of academic rigour applied to the awards.”

The jury head will be SALA faculty member Dr. Ray Cole, professor of architecture and former director of SALA, who has been teacher, researcher and thought leader in environmental issues in architectural design and education for the past 40 years.

Other jury members include:

• Kevin Daly, founder, Kevin Daly Architects, US;

• Paul Fast, founder and partner, Fast & Epp, Canada;

• Jeanne Gang, founding principal, Studio Gang, US;

• Harry Gugger, professor, architectural and urban design, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland;

• Forrest Meggers, assistant professor, Princeton University School of Architecture, US;

• Jennifer Wolch, dean and professor, College of Environmental Design, University of California-Berkeley, US; and

• Marc Angélil, professor of architecture and design, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland.

In June, the jury will review all North American entries in Main and Next Generation (under age 30) categories and will consider the merits of each for awards based on five target issues for sustainable construction: Progress – Innovation and transferability People – Ethical standards and social inclusion Planet – Resource and environmental performance Prosperity – Economic viability and compatibility Place – Contextual and aesthetic impact LafargeHolcim says notable past Canadian award winners are:

• Nader Tehrani- NADAA: Heritage Reframed/ University building renovation and extension – Toronto, Ontario

• Mason White – Lateral: Regional food gathering nodes and logistics network – Iqaluit, NU

• John Gunn- Laurentian University: Living with Lakes Center for freshwater restoration and research – Sudbury, ON

The competition is open to projects in architecture, building and civil engineering, landscape architecture and urban design. There is no fee to enter. Further information about the competition is found here: https://www.lafargeholcim-foundation.org/AwardApplication/lafargeholcim-awards-2016.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.